Lou Barlow – “The Breeze”


If Lou Barlow and J. Mascis are in some kind of competition to see who can make the most music, together and separate, I hope it never ends. Barlow gave us a solo record just last year and is part of the newest Dinosaur Jr. album, but already has a new EP ready. The first single, “The Breeze,” does a lot with a little and furthers the respect we have for Lou. Keep ’em coming, sir.

Simple Minds & KT Tunstall “Promised You A Miracle”


Simples Minds have just announced a “one-off album of 12 stripped down and re-imagined songs spanning the band’s eclectic and illustrious career.” Along with all of the hits and favorites, there are also guests involved, as you’ll hear on the first single, which features Ms. KT Tunstall.

Temples – “Certainty”


English psych-rock quartet Temples are setting the stage for a new album to be released in early 2017. Our first listen in to the yet to be titled effort builds upon where they left off with 2014’s Sun Structures, which frontman James Bagshaw says about the single:

When writing the melody for ‘Certainty,’ I wanted to create something with almost an eerie, early Disney vibe, something playful and harmonious, but with a dark twist. Producing the song was as much about layering as it was about sparseness—the verses needed to reveal the thumping motion of the bass and the reflective lyrics, and the melody had to be paired with the right ambience. The chorus was approached in an opposite way, layer after layer, thickening the sound. There’s a blend between moog bass, and actual bass, and the song switches between synthetic and analogue sounds throughout. The guitar mirrors the synth, and visa versa.

The Joy Formidable – “Sleep Is Day”


Welsh alternative trio, The Joy Formidable have surprised released a new EP titled Sleep Is Day, quick on the heels of Hitch, which was released earlier this year. The EP shares a couple of songs with the full length, as well as acoustic versions of “The Last Thing On My Mind” and “Radio of Lips”. The title track is a slow builder that moves forward with a feeling of determination. Take a listen.

Ben Lee – “The Enemy Within”


Freedom, Love & the Recuperation of the Human Mind is the title of the 11th studio album from Ben Lee, just announced over the weekend, which will arrive as soon as Oct. 21. He’ll spend a bit of the fall touring his native Australia, so maybe some US dates next year. In the meantime, check out the first single below.

Download : Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam “A 1000 Times”


The pairing of The Walkmen’s Hamilton Leithauser and former Vampire Weekend producer/instrumentalist Rostam Batmanglij turns out to be an inspired one. Their just released album “I Had A Dream That You Were Mine” is already being hailed as one of 2016’s best. The lead track and first single is “A 1000 Times”, a good indication as to why the album is garnering such acclaim. Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam’s “A 1000 Times” is WFPK’s Download Of The Week. Grab it now while you can, and be sure to checkout the video featuring both artists as well as performers portraying younger versions of themselves. Both of their fathers stand in as the older Rostam and Hamilton as well.

Download “A 1000 Times by Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam