Dirty Projectors – “Keep Your Name”


We’ve been awaiting new Dirty Projectors since the day after they released Swing Lo Magellan, because when you’ve got something great, you want more of it. Immediately. Obviously, four year isn’t that immediate, but we’re not mad. Art takes time, and this is good art.

No word on the full length just yet, but it’s not nothing. Enjoy this something.

Scarlett Johansson – “Bizarre Love Triangle” (New Order cover)


Scarlett Johansson is no stranger to music, having released a Tom Waits cover album in 2008 and a collaboration with Pete Yorn on the Break Up EP in 2009. Her latest run behind the mic is for amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research, who are putting out a benefit compilation called The Time Is Now. Here, Johansson is with her band Sugar for Sugar covering New Order’s “Bizarre Love Triangle” to great, electro-success.

Twin Limb – “The Weather”


After a few teaser singles that became some of our favorite songs of the year, Louisville trio Twin Limb have just announced that their debut LP Haplo will arrive October 28th! They’ll also be on tour with Jim James through the fall, with their own album release show at Headliners on the album’s release day. The first single also has a beautiful video, which you should watch immediately.

Leonard Cohen – “You Want It Darker”


The man doesn’t stop. At 82, Leonard Cohen is on a run that would put most younger musicians to shame. His 4th release this decade, You Want It Darker, arrives this fall, and that title spells it all out. Just when you thought it couldn’t get any darker, Cohen dims the light even more. But it’s not a hopeless feeling, not at all. For an artist who excels at slow, Cohen commands his groove so that you hold on to every word, backed by a gothic choir that all, somehow, still resolves to leave you with an odd optimism. Hope wears a smirk and a cocked eyebrow. It’s every bit as perfect as anything he’s done before.

Download : Flock Of Dimes “Semaphore”


Flock Of Dimes, aka Jenn Wasner (Wye Oak, Dungeonesse), shares the first track, “Semaphore,” off of her debut full-length album, If You See Me, Say Yes, coming out September 23rd on Partisan Records.  This track is the first glimpse of a record that is the culmination of Wasner’s many years of work crafting her distinct blend of electro-acoustic pop music – forward thinking, emotionally resonant, and stylistically unparalleled.

Flock Of Dimes “Semaphore” is WFPK’s Download Of The Week. Grab it while you can.

Download “Semaphore by Flock Of Dimes

Jason Isbell – “New York Morning” (Elbow cover)


Pianist Lang Lang just released a star-studded album that uses New York as it’s inspiration. He’s tackled such classics as “Empire State of Mind,” “Rhapsody In Blue,” and “Somewhere (Dirty Blvd.)” with folks like Herbie Hackcock, Jeffry Wright, and Jason Isbell. In fact, it’s Mr. Isbell who lends his vocals to Elbow’s “New York Morning,” which is one of the most exciting match-ups of the year, and the results have us grinning from ear to ear.