Song Premiere: TV on the Radio – Million Miles


This morning, public radio stations across the country are premiering genre-bending rock band TV On The Radio’s new single, Million Miles. It’s the group’s second single from a yet-to-be-titled fifth studio album, due for release sometime soon on producer Dave Sitek’s own record label, Federal Prism. It will be TV On The Radio’s first album since parting ways with Interscope Records, which released the group’s prior three albums.

The Avett Brothers – Another Is Waiting


The Avett Brothers have a new album called Magpie and the Dandelion, and it hits shelves Oct. 15. WFPK has partnered up with NPR Music to premiere the first track from it, Another Is Waiting.

Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin – Nightwater Girlfriend


Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin has been pretty busy. In addition to working on a new album called Fly by Wire, which is out Sept. 17 on Polyvinyl, the band recently filmed a documentary about a trip to Russia that was organized by the US State Department and the Boris Yeltsin Foundation. Here’s a trailer for the film and the lead cut from the record, Nightwater Girlfriend.

Volcano Choir – Byegone

Volcano Choir - Byegone

It’s been a while since we’ve heard from Volcano Choir, Bon Iver frontman Justin Vernon’s collaboration with fellow Wisconsinites Collections of Colonies of Bees. So it came as something of a surprise when a new Volcano Choir album was announced. It’s called Repave and will be out Sept. 3 on Jagjaguwar. Here is the first taste of it, Byegone.

Deer Tick – The Rock

Deer Tick - The Rock

Just a couple of weeks ago, Deer Tick hinted that a new album was around the corner. Now the Rhode Island rockers have spilled the beans entirely, premiering a song about heartbreak and sorrow earlier today from their upcoming Negativity LP.

While the John McCauley’s lyrics and most of the instrumentation on The Rock are unquestionably despondent, the horns give you the feeling that maybe – just maybe – there’s light at the end of the tunnel. Negativity is out Sept. 24 on Partisan Records.

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros – Better Days


Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros are readying a 12-song, self-titled release. It’s not out until July 23, but Alex Ebert and the gang have already released the first track, called Better Days.